Crimson Skies, and 3 Other Reboots That Needed to Happen Yesterday

Does anyone else remember Crimson Skies: High Road to Revenge? The game was originally released for Xbox way back in 2003 and was well received by critics and gamers alike, despite its less than impressive sales figures. When I first got the opportunity to play this game it was Christmas of 2006, shortly after Crimson Skies had been re-coined as an Xbox “Platinum Hit” (remember those?). Luckily for me, I have parents who are completely oblivious to what is considered a “good video game”. So during my childhood Christmas’ and Birthdays I would get a lot of games with “cool looking covers”… which as you can imagine, eventually ended up in a shelf full of unopened games. HOWEVER. Crimson Skies was not one of those games.

Mom: "Oh it's a Platinum Hit so that means it must be a really good game! Plus it has planes!" Dad: "It's only $15? Okay!"

Mom: “Oh it’s a Platinum Hit so that means it must be a really good game!” Dad: “It’s only $15? Okay!”

There are few things I love more in this life than planes with big guns, and reminiscing about the 1930′s. So Crimson Skies instantly intrigued 15-year-old me with its promise of planes with big guns and dashing 1930′s action. I beat the game in a single day and ever since I have been patiently waiting for it’s magnificent dieselpunk return to consoles. I honestly can’t even remember what the storyline was about, which is shocking coming from an RPG junkie, but I do remember Crimson Skies being one of the most fun games I had ever played. To this day, I only have fond memories of it: being Nathan Zachary, most feared fortune-hunting-air-pirate in all of North America, chasing down those bastards who killed my best friend, stealing loot from all the trains I could find, and exploring cities in the sky! Crimson Skies had Columbia before Bioshock: Infinite did… sorta. Look, the point is this game needs a reboot! I hope I’m correct in saying that Crimson Skies still remains a cult-classic and deserves a glorious return to the console realm. The IP is still owned by Microsoft Game Studios, and to be honest, seeing a Crimson Skies reboot on the Xbox One might be enough to convince me to kiss $500 dollars away. I wish I was joking.

Nathan Zachary. Air Pirate, Casanova, and all around quintessential badass. If him and Han Solo ever met, the world might just explode from the awesomeness.

Nathan Zachary. Air Pirate, Casanova, and all around quintessential badass. If he and Han Solo ever met, the world might just explode from the awesomeness.

I was originally going to stop this post right here in respect to my Crimson Skies fangirl session. But now that I mention it, here are some other games that I believe desperately need to be rebooted:

Crazy Taxi (1999)

This game taught me how to drive like an educated and responsible citizen.

This game taught me how to drive like an educated and responsible citizen.

For the love of God, PLEASE somebody make Sega reboot this game! Crazy Taxi will always hold a special place in my heart. This game made casual gamers out of people before the Wii even knew what a “casual gamer” was. I have yet to meet a single person who didn’t absolutely adore this game. Its sequels Crazy Taxi 2 and Crazy Taxi 3: High Roller were released in 2001 and 2002 respectively, while the most recent version of the game Crazy Taxi: Fare Wars was released for the PSP in 2007. But with a new console generation upon us, I would love to see this game rebooted for something… anything will do really. There’s recently been an iOS version released, but it’s been six long years since a true Crazy Taxi game has been produced and I for one would love to see it on the Vita.

Burnout 3: Takedown (2004)

Seriously though, this game was so much fun simply because it rewarded me for crashing.

Seriously though, this game was so much fun simply because it rewarded me for crashing.

Burnout will forever be my favorite racing franchise, and Takedown was my absolute favorite game of the series. I want to preface this by saying I’ve bought and played Burnout: Paradise. It was amazing and I love it, but I really do feel like Paradise strayed too far away from what made Burnout such a hit in the first place: the crashes! Burnout 3: Takedown was a game that I could play with all my friends even if they had never played a video game before because 80% of the fun was watching each other crash in slow motion. There was even a mode where the whole point was to cause the most damage from a single car crash! Needless to say, that was my favorite mode to play.To me, Paradise is too much about racing and not enough about crashing in the most epic fashion possible (as weird as that sounds). I would still be playing my copy of Takedown to this day… if I hadn’t broken the disc after throwing the case across the room in frustration. But hey, after losing a boss race 58 times in a row and then lose to him the 59th time by a mere 0.01 seconds, you’d probably have thrown the box too. I really think they should make Takedown it’s own series, or at least take the next Burnout back to its roots.

Panzer Dragoon Orta (2002)

Hell yeah. Dragons.

Hell yeah. Dragons.

Okay, so I’ve never actually played this game, but I used to watch my best friend play it all the time. It was her favorite game on the Xbox and I would beg her to play just so I could watch. From what I could tell, it was a game about people who rode dragons with guns attached to their backs and shot at other dragons. Honestly, what more could you want from a game than that? I mean, c’mon. DRAGONS. The last time someone tried to put dragons and video games together, we got Lair… which was… a hot mess. If Sega ever rebooted Panzer Dragoon, I would probably fangirl to death; but at least I would die happy.

Pictured: Me waiting for Sega to catch my hint.

Pictured: Me.

Standard

One thought on “Crimson Skies, and 3 Other Reboots That Needed to Happen Yesterday

  1. Pingback: Impossible Creatures, and 3 MORE Reboots That Needed to Happen Yesterday | Come See What's Growing

Add a grape to this vine

